Announcements

Basic Use of Announcements

Adding the Tool to your Site

  1. Go to Site Info.
  2. Click Edit Tools.
  3. Check the box beside the Announcements tool.
  4. Click Continue.

Posting an Announcement

  1. Once the Announcements tool has been activated and you have selected it from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page, click Add.Announcements01-a.png
  2. Enter a Title and give the announcement a description using the WYS|WYG text editor under Body.Announcements02-a.png
  3. Adjust the Announcement settings to your liking:
    1. Under Access, specify who will be able to see your announcement.
    2. Under Availability, select whether to Show (post), Hide (leave as a draft), or Specify Dates (for when the announcement will be displayed). If you choose to specify dates, the Beginning date will dictate when your announcement is posted.
    3. Attach any files you would like to accompany your announcement by clicking Add Attachments.Announcements03-a.png
    4. You can choose to send an email notification to your site's participants in addition to having your announcement posted. To do this, select the appropriate option from the Email Notification drop-down menu:
      • Select None - No notification if you do not want an email sent to your site participants.
      • Select Low - Not received by those who have opted out if you want an email sent only to participants who have chosen to receive low-priority email notifications.
      • Select High - All participants if you want all site participants to receive the email. Note: If you choose to specify announcement release dates, any email notifications will be sent out on the specified beginning date.
    5. Click Preview if you would like to preview your announcement before posting it.Announcements04-a.png
  4. Click Post Announcement.Announcements05-a.png

Editing an Announcement

  1. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page.
  2. Click Edit (under the announcement's subject if in Sortable table view, to the right of the announcement's title if in List view).Note: if you do not have sufficient permission to edit a particular announcement, you will not see the option to revise it. It is also worth noting that you may only edit one announcement at a time.
  3. Make any desired changes to your announcement.
  4. When you are finished editing, click Save Changes.

Deleting an Announcement

  1. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page.
  2. If in List view, click the Remove button located to the far right of announcement title. If in Sortable table view, locate the Remove? column at the right side of the page and check the box corresponding with the announcement(s) you would like to delete.Note: if you do not have permission to delete a particular announcement, you will not see a box under Remove?.
  3. Click Update (if in Sortable table view).
  4. When the confirmation screen appears, click Remove or Cancel.

Reading an Announcement

  1. To read announcements from a site to which you belong:
    1. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page.
    2. Click on the title of the announcement you would like to read.
  2. To view a list of consolidated announcements from all of your sites:
    1. Go to your My Workspace tab at the top of the page.
    2. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page.
    3. Click on the title of the announcement you would like to read.Note: You can sort the listed announcements by clicking on any of the column headings (e.g. clicking on Site will arrange your announcements in alphabetical order according to the site(s) they belong to).

Advanced Use of Announcements

Merging Announcements

Follow the steps below to display one or more worksite's announcements in another worksite:

  1. In the site where you would like the merged announcements to appear, select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page.
  2. Click Merge.
  3. Check the boxes corresponding with the site(s) with which you would like to merge announcements.
  4. Click Save (at the bottom of the page).

Announcement Options

  1. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page, and then click Options.
  2. Select your desired Display Options from the list provided:
    • Sortable table view - announcements are organized into a table: columns contain relevant information pertaining to each announcement, and rows contain the announcements themselves.
    • Sortable table view with announcement body - this is the same as the previous option, though with each announcement's body of text displayed as well.
    • List view with announcement body - announcements are displayed in a list.Announcements12-a.png
      • Select the number of characters to display in the announcement body from the drop-down menu next to Characters in body.
  3. Specify your desired RSS Feed Options:
    • Next to RSS Alias (40 chars max), you can enter an alias for the new Announcements RSS feed.Note: You cannot remove this alias once it has been set.
    • You will find the URL for your Announcements RSS feed posted next to RSS URL.
  4. Set limitations to how announcements will be displayed by adjusting the following Display Limits settings:
    • Number of days in the past - limit your announcements list to a specific number of days past.
    • Number of announcements - limit the number of announcements that will be displayed in your announcements list.
  5. Click Update.Announcements13-a.png

Announcement Permissions Settings

By default, all members of a worksite are permitted to read announcements. Follow the steps below to change site members' permissions to read, create, revise, and/or delete announcements:

  1. Select Announcements from the tool bar on the left-hand side of the page, and then click Permissions.
  2. Check the appropriate boxes corresponding with the following options for different roles:
    • Read Announcements
    • Create Announcements
    • Delete all announcements
    • Delete own announcements
    • Edit all announcements
    • Edit own announcements
    • Access all group announcements
    • Read all draft announcements
    1. The following screenshot displays the default announcement permission settings:Announcements14-o.png
  3. Once you are satisfied with your permissions settings, click Save.